I know everything for MCAT. Still can't get good score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EMT313

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so I have been studying for MCAT for about 6 months now. I know the information pretty much inside and out. I just can't seem to bring it all together into a good score. Highest I have gotten on each section (in different test unfortunately) is PS: 8, VR: 10 Bio: 10. but I have never gotten a 28 overall. I know I am capable of a 30 or better, when I review my exams I know 90% of the answers I got wrong and cant explain why I got them wrong.

My MCAT is in 7 days :( Can anyone give me some tips on test taking strategy? Or how to raise my score?

Members don't see this ad.

I guess I don't know it 110% but I know enough to get a 30. Like I said going over my exams I know the majority of the problems I get wrong. I think my problem is in test taking. Any tips of overall test taking that you think might help?

Members don't see this ad :)
I review my exams I know 90% of the answers I got wrong and cant explain why I got them wrong.
What do you mean by you can't explain why you got them wrong? There is a difference between knowing the answer in hindsight and knowing it outright.

Maybe you are just looking at the answer choices and saying "Thats obvious, I knew that..."
If that is the case you just need to do a ton more practice problems because it is your recall that is causing problems. Understanding concepts is not the same as being able to decipher how to solve it during the exam.

I agree with DrknoSDN on this one. Do you look at the wrong answer choices and know why there wrong? If you can't figure it out, post-analysis, this means you need to learn you material better.