I matched - Fiancee Year Behind in Med School - What to do for Residency Locales

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CycloneDoc2B

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey:

Long time lurker; not many posts but I figured this is worth a shot!

So I've searched and this is the only thread I came up with that came close to answering what I was looking for: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=599710&highlight=transfer+++fiancee And that is really only covering some of the MI programs and DO's (which both of us are).

So I matched into an Allopathic Peds Program in a portion of the country that doesn't have more then a school or two for residencies. I'm super excited to get going but have some questions about others who have gone through this, about their experiences and what to do/how to help my cause!

So, I'm an incoming first year resident, and my fiancee (wife in 8 months) is a year behind me in med school. She will be applying for Allopathic OB Programs here this Fall. So, here are my questions:

• How do I bolster her chances of matching into the same school where I am, for residency, albeit in a different field entirely? I am going to work my ***** off to make sure that I'm a resident that the program doesn't want to see go, which I feel can only help my and her chances of matching there...
  • Any advice on getting to know other Attendings in a different field, in a University setting?
  • What are my options if she does NOT match into the same university besides obviously 'toughing it out' :scared:for two years until my residency is done?
  • If transferring is an option, and since the Match is in Mid March - how do I even approach this with my PD IF if IF I have to do that?
  • Is mid-March, aka Match time, too late to transfer AFTER completing my intern year?