I think I am going to give it a shot

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

slick90210

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I am a Canadian student with an American citizenship and I have finally decided to go ahead and write the American DAT this coming February. I think I can do quite well, I will have an entire month of about 8 hours a day to study and already have the materials (did a little preparation for the Canadian DAT)

Sadly, my GPA should be about 3.48cGPA(same for science) with
1st year 2.63
2nd year 3.8
3rd year 3.95ish

I am not very active in clubs but am a very social person. I did do some research this summer as volunteering -and at a Canadian dental school- and plan on doing about 50 hours of shadowing this semester. From what i've heard international students usually have a bit more difficulty getting into American schools then American students. Usually a 3.5GPA would suffice but as an International student i'm worried.

Just wanting to get some feedback if its worth applying this coming cycle and what schools would should I be looking at.

Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

Technically, you're an American citizen, so I'm not sure if that'll change any admissions things. However, admission to the private schools shouldn't be that much of an issue. Also, you'll be able to take out loans in the US for dental school, which'll be a good thing.

But to be on the safe side, I'd try to score at high as possible on the US DAT, and apply to as many schools as possible. You really have no chance at the state schools, so I'd recommend only applying to private schools.

If you score 21+ on the DAT, I don't see you having much trouble getting in to most of the private schools.

Members don't see this ad :)
With, really high DAT scores like 22+, you should have good chance at some state schools