IM pGY-1 seeking to get a CA-1 spot in 07/06

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

in4mthsMD

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

How do I get in this july. I really don't feel like waiting out a year, and most of the programs I've contacted have no available spots. What am I to do now? Anyone know what the chances of getting a PGY-2 in july are. Must I apply through ERAS? Scramble?? and by the way I am a US grad with letters of rec from my PD.

Members don't see this ad.

in4mthsMD said:
Hi guys,

How do I get in this july. I really don't feel like waiting out a year, and most of the programs I've contacted have no available spots. What am I to do now? Anyone know what the chances of getting a PGY-2 in july are. Must I apply through ERAS? Scramble?? and by the way I am a US grad with letters of rec from my PD.

You're behind the 8 ball because of the late start in this. Applying through ERAS isn't going to help you this late without any possibility to interview, so save your money there. Scrambling isn't an option for July/06. The scramble is for July/07.

Your best bet is to keep e-mailing programs around the country this spring in hopes of getting a spot that unexpectedly comes open. Otherwise, you should be asking them about possible open spots for July/07.

in4mthsMD said:
Hi guys,

Agree with UT on this one. You should have no sweat getting a CA-1 spot for july 07, but it may (or may not depending on how flexible and persisant you are) be tough to sign for this year. Maybe you can do clinical research for a year or even do another year of IM and be a better anesthesiologist for it. If I were you I would contact big names first and see what they have open for 07 outside of the match.

Members don't see this ad :)
REGISTER FOR THE MATCH BEFORE FEB 22.