immature classmates?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mitosis45

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first year dental student and have been so surprised by how immature and unprofessional some of my classmates are. after being extremely frustrated for a whole semester i am wondering if anyone else is having this problem? for example, classmates will loudly snicker during class whenever another classmate asks a question, gossip about other classmates on facebook and gchat during class, and basically act like they are in highschool all over again. i never had this problem in my undergrad...what is going on?

Members don't see this ad.

Where are you? And can you be a little bit more specific?

Are these specifically dental students or general graduate students that you work with? I think they'll always be a few bad apples but the entire class?

I am a first year dental student and have been so surprised by how immature and unprofessional some of my classmates are. after being extremely frustrated for a whole semester i am wondering if anyone else is having this problem? for example, classmates will loudly snicker during class whenever another classmate asks a question, gossip about other classmates on facebook and gchat during class, and basically act like they are in highschool all over again. i never had this problem in my undergrad...what is going on?

ha get used to it... 4 yrs of dental school was much worse than 4 yrs of high school; mostly because in high school we had over 2000 students while in dental school your stuck with the same ~100 students (except NYU). cliques formed in my school quickly and just stick to your clique.. your going to have the mormons, the persians, the internationals, the jocks, and the nerds :) figure out who you belong to and stick with them; especially on the playground, as things may get hairy..

Members don't see this ad :)