Important Factors for deciding on a med school.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stansbury

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering what factors did you guys use to pick between schools, after being accepted?

I am an undergrad and to be totally honest, I really dont know whats important to look for in a school, besides tuition + living costs and location of school.

So any help would be very appreciated.

thanks
Stansbury

Members don't see this ad.

Different people find different characteristics of a medical school to be important. For most people the three most important factors are reputation (ie US News rank), location and cost. In general the availability and quality of research opportunities are directly correlated to reputation. Quality of residency match lists also are pretty closely related to school reputation. If you think you might want to pursue a competitive residency spot then don't let people tell you that rank doesn't matter.

cost, location, my gut feeling

Members don't see this ad :)
thanks for the input so far. On the allo forum everyone seems to discuss board scores a lot, so are avg board scores and important factor?

What about curriculum, one medical student was telling me that having a pharmacology class in the curriculum is very important (i thought all med schools would have this, but I guess some schools dont have this course).

For competitive residencies is it more important to have a good board score or come from a school with a good "reputation".

(on a side note: I understand that there's probably a huge gray when discussing these types of matters, but I am just looking for a more generalized answer)

Are there any other factors that I should be looking for? If so please let me know.

stansbury

I can't think of any medical school that DOESN'T have pharmacology. Afterall, pharm is a big part of USMLE Step 1