This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

infloodlife

Reaction score
Ok so I will be very honest in this. Since the beginning of high school I have said that I have wanted to become a doctor. Since then I have spent two years on Ski Patrol working with physicians and boosting my confidence as well as my passion. Also since my first year of high school, I have essentially become psychologically addicted to weed, and have begun to dabble in more potent drugs. I smoke heavily and consitantly and I can admit it is 100% to cover up some underlying mental illness.
I never did awful in higschool, I graduated with a weighted 3.3, I took as many AP classes I could and did not get below a C, yet I struggled very hard to put in any effort to my schoolwork. I am infatuated by anything biology, I have read anatomy textbooks and tons of scientific journals in my free time out of pure interest, but I am terrified that this passion I have will not translate to success in college or possibly med school. My senior year of high school, this year, my dad died of a heart attack after he battled leukemia for 6 years. This event has made me physically ache for the chance to save a life, to pursue this career. I have seen how medicine had given me that 6 years with him. Still, I struggle with drugs and fear that when I start college next year, it will only become worse. I hope there may be somebody who could shed some light into how to harness that passion and actually apply it to education, because I do love to learn. If, possibly, there are other people who have struggled with drug abuse yet have overcome it to pursue a medical career, I would love to hear your advice. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

First of all, sorry for your loss OP.