In pharmacy school...best course of action?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

desklamp

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I asked around the pre-med forums and was told I should finish my Pharm D before applying. Med schools apparently do not like unfinished degrees.

Here's the thing though.... Pharmacy was never my first choice. Medicine was. However, unforeseen personal things happened during my undergrad that made my GPA extremely unfit for med school apps so I had to revise my life choices while struggling to correct my mistakes (worked and did a one year masters). Right now, I am still in my first year of pharmacy school and so far I have a 4.0, which brings my cumulative GPA up to a still sub-par but maybe reviewable GPA. It costs me $36,000 a year to attend and every additional year will be a huge hit to my finances, so finishing the degree before applying to medical school would make my debt astronomical, not to mention an additional 2 years wasted.

I "tolerate" pharmacy. It is an interesting field, but it does not offer as much autonomy, critical thinking, and focus on diagnostics that being a doctor adds. Sometimes it feels like they are teaching us to be a drug encyclopedia for doctors and patients. I also feel out of place among my peers. I think I am one of 5 people in my class that studies on a regular basis. I feel this way because whenever my classmates ask me what I am doing and I say "going to review my notes" they look at me like I am weird.

Yes, I should have been a trooper in undergrad, sucked it up, and gotten a better GPA. I also probably should not have been practical, and looked at other career options, but instead, kept my focus on medical school. But it's too late to change that now.