Incoming College Freshman Seeking Any Tips or Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Unique_Username1

Reaction score
I'm an incoming college freshman hoping to graduate within 3 years. Any advice on how I can make myself a strong dental school applicant? What activities should I focus on during my freshman year? Is there anything I should keep in mind? I'm not too sure where to start so any advice would be helpful.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Get good grades especially in your science courses. Join a club. get a job where you can get some healthcare experience. Doesn’t need to be dental related but obviously it’d be more beneficial if it is. Start shadowing early. volunteer. Do well on the DAT when it comes time to take it. Research is always nice to top it off. Personally, I think it’s more beneficial to push yourself with the course load (number of credits) rather then take it easy. Of course you don’t want to sacrifice your grades/social life in the process. It’s college after all, have some fun.

As far as shadowing and volunteering, I’d shoot for 100+ hours as a baseline.

Reactions: 1 user
If your school has a pre-professional office start there and make an appointment with the advisor ASAP. Set some goals and find out what it really takes to get into dental school especially your instate school if you have one.

Focus on grades, shadowing, and growing as a person, finding a job is a great idea even working retail talking to people helped me a lot.

Another thing you can do is join a pre-dental club on your campus, some are good some aren't so keep that in mind when deciding if it's worth your time I mostly avoided mine unless they had an interesting guest speaker.