Increasing chances as an IMG

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LimeNilepeark

Reaction score
Hello,

long-time lurker here. I'm a recent medical graduate, planning to apply for the match in 2022. I'm looking for some advice on how to maximize my chances of matching at a top residency program, maybe even in a research track. My hope is to become an academic psychiatrist, doing research.

A short overview of my stats

Step 1: 255
Step 2 CK: 262
School: IMG (Western Europe)
Class Rank: No class rank, but scored >90th percentile on all national exams
Grades in Clerkship: Could get them from my medical school, got A's on everything except family medicine
Research/ Publications/ Extracurriculars: 2 preprints with first author, 6 publications as coauthor, all in psych. I have a master's degree and will also get a PhD equivalent in December 2022, both in psych.
Red Flags: (step failures, etc): None

I'll do an internship at a major academic institution in the US in spring 2022, hopefully being able to publish a paper there. Afterwards, I'll also do a 4-week observership at a top US institution in psych. Lastly, I plan to take step 3 before, to have it in time for the match as well. My LORs will come from my home institution, one from the internship and hopefully one from the observership. One major problem is that I couldn't do any electives due to COVID, so I'll have to do an observership.

What do you think could I do to increase my chances of matching ? Should I do another observership in internal? Get a language certificate for my spanish skills? Or focus on research and try to increase the publication count by a little? Not sure where I should focus my energy. Or does anyone maybe have an idea I haven't thought of yet? Any feedback is greatly appreciated :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hello,