Inferiority complex as a resident..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

proletariat_1

Reaction score
I know hundreds (maybe thousands) of books/articles have been written about this exact issue but I was just hoping to get some advice or words of encouragement from fellow residents.

I am a PGY-3 resident in a surgical sub-specialty at a "name brand" program. Over the past year or so, I have been feeling myself develop an increasing inferiority complex. There are two other residents in my program (out of about 20 total), a PGY-4 and a PGY-5, who are absolutely crushing it. Our attendings love operating with them, their research output is fantastic, and the PGY-5 has been almost unanimously been called as the best resident any of our attendings have ever seen clinically and in terms of research. Both of these residents have reached regional and/or national recognition in our field already (panelists in regional/national meetings, invited talks, etc.).

I have also been doing very well in residency, am about as clinically competent as the PGY-4 was at my stage, attendings seem to really like me, and research-wise I am doing well for a resident, including several publications per year, occasional talks at regional/national meetings (but less high-profile than the other two), and some independent funding, all of which I know is really great for a resident to have achieved.