Instruments for school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

10+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been told to wait until I start school before I buy things but my friends and relatives all seem to want to get me things I'm going to use in med school (stethoscope, otoscope, ophthalmoscope). My questions is what kind of quality do you need. I think a good name is important for a stethoscope (for example, Littman) but there is still about $150 range (from standard to Cardiology) and some included more things (like pediatric attachments). What do I need?

Members don't see this ad.

Speaking from experience, I have carried a Littman for almost 9 years...any of them will do the job. I am a resp therapist and used to auscultating breath sounds which can be tough. I use a Littman pediatric for kids and a Littman classic 2 for adults, both with extra long tubing. I have used those $$$$ Cardiac Master 3 and could really appreciate ZERO difference...except a notibly diminished feel in the old checkbook!!

As for the rest, I understand some of the product reps cycle around with great deals on what you'll be needing.

Myself, I plan to wait.

------------------
'Old Man Dave'
Senior, Neurosciences
Univ of Texas at Dallas
Class of 1999

I would have to agree with Dave.. I would wait. I am going to school in August and I am eager to get started. I am such a gadget freak that I would jump on the chance to start buying things for school. But I am sure that it would be best to find out from the school what you'll need before you go on your shopping spree. Just remember the loan..
Good luck!
smile.gif

Duke

Members don't see this ad :)
Okay,