Interest in Equine Dentistry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mandypr

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an equine dentist looking for a recent or soon to be recent vet grad who has an interest in equine dentistry. I have been in practice since 2001 and have build up a large clientele. I love equine dentistry and if I had to do it over again I would have gone to vet school and build a practice where I would have sedated from the beginning to prolong my career and save my shoulders and elbows. That said I have a great relationship with the gp's in my area but we usually only sedate for bad cases and it means 2 trips out, wasted time etc. So I decided to make career change to human dentistry and applied to dental school this cycle. Now I have interviews coming up and wrapping up pre-req's so sh** is getting real. I am looking for a vet who would be able to sedate horses for procedures and looking to specialize in dentistry to take over my practice. In the mean time I would help train the new person, introduce them to my clients and offer a client list and tools when I know I am in a school. They can do mobile or trailer in, it is up to them. If I do not get into a dental school this cycle, I would still be looking for a vet to partner up with so I can work a few more years and do more volunteer work etc while I reapply to dental school. Dentistry is a very rewarding and exciting field. I do not want to leave my very loyal clients hanging and know they would benefit from having a veterinarian dentist than a technician dentist. I am located in Elkton, Maryland which is dense horse country. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry... but are you performing procedures on un-sedated patients???