Interest in Pharmacy; guidance needed

Lands

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a junior in high school and I have an interest in pharmacy.
I need some guidance on what I should be doing and I need to know if it is even possible for me to become a pharmacist when I get older. I am a mediocre student by all means, but I do wish to pursue in the field of pharmacy. Is community college to a university a viable option? I am not looking for the fastest way to become a pharmacist; I look to become a very good pharmacist. I have strong interests in chemistry, although I failed AP chemistry, but I do not know if this will take me anywhere.

Please give me some advice on what I should do to pursue my dream of being a pharmacist.

Members don't see this ad.

Maintain a high GPA or try to for the rest of your high school career. Score well on the SAT's and get into a good college, you can even try to look into 6 year BS/Pharm D. programs (google is your friend).

Except for that at your stage right now its a bit early to do anything. Perhaps if you really want...you can shadow a pharmacist or try to get a job as a pharm tech, either certified or work your way up. Get introduced to the field.

AP chemistry generally wont hurt you...when you say fail i assume you mean you got a 1 or a 2. Though Chemistry is important, you will be taking it in college anyways, and chances are...a 2 on the AP can help you get a A in college chem, and thats what matters the most. Remmber, noone will know your AP scores unless you report them.

Members don't see this ad :)
If you don't mind me asking, why do you want to be a pharmacist? Also, why did you do so poorly in AP Chem?