Interested in Psych: Some VSAS, auditions, scores and other questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ladysmanfelpz

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Was interested in it before med school and after my first rotation in adolescent inpatient with adult and adolescent outpatient I was pretty much sold. I am on adult inpatient now, however, and don't find it as interesting, but still think it is my number one field I want to pursue.

So a couple things. I saw from other posts on here that auditions aren't really too necessary for applying to psych residencies. Is that true?
I am a Arizona resident and U of A has a psych residency so wouldn't it be helpful to audition there? My buddy also told me that auditions can hurt more than help you if you don't show up ready and aren't a good worker, hence I'm guessing ppl said you should skip the auditions. But if I really want it, and I desire to stay in AZ, wouldn't it be best to rotate there and try to knock it out of the park?

As far as VSAS goes, what all do I need to know lol? And what are some other programs I should look at that aren't on VSAS, or how do I go about doing that?

Second, are stats okay? 226 step and 550 comlex with middle of the pack class rank. No real research or case studies although psych is really the only field I'd be interested in doing that and have some ideas of what I could write up on.

And lastly what is a back up option if I don't want to pursue Psych? I rotated with one fourth year who was both auditioning and applying to both Psych and IM residencies. I think my stats should be okay for IM, correct, but really wasn't interested in it unless its some subspecialty I haven't experienced yet. My only other interest is really EM, but don't know how doable it is to apply both Psych and EM.