Interested yet very skeptical...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lighty325

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, I've been doing research into the pre-reqs of the PT programs, and I see that I don't really measure up in terms of numbers. I am a sophomore and my cumulative GPA is a 2.32. What I want to know is if schools will take into account the school where the undergrad degree is attained? I am attending a fairly prestigious university: Lehigh University in Bethlehem, PA. I see that a popular requirement in most PT programs is a 3.0 GPA. This is a 3.0 from ANY undergrad university, correct? I mean, I could easily go to a state school and achieve above a 3.0. I guess my question is, do I stand even a one in a million chance? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Go to a state school then. You can call me ignorant, but I just had to look up Lehigh University just now because your post is the first time I heard of it. Generally, PT programs do not look at your undergraduate university. They dont even care if you take pre-reqs at a community college.

Now if you rock out your last two years in undergrad then you still have a shot.

I don't believe that PT schools take into account where you attained your bachelors. After all, the prerequisites are the prerequisites no matter where you go. Does Lehigh teach a special kind of Physics I and II classes? Are their Chemistry I and II classes based on something other than what the state's schools classes are?

I have friends who have attended schools from Div II state schools to Ivy leagues. I don't believe the Ivy leaguers were any more versed in core classes than the state school friends. Only thing I have noticed is that the Ivy boy's can say they went to "Hah-vard" and the name impresses those who care about such things.