Intern starting on NICU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Calcio92

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an incoming intern starting in the NICU. Any advice on what I can do to prepare? I'm afraid that I will be completely out of my depth.

Members don't see this ad.

I am an incoming intern starting in the NICU. Any advice on what I can do to prepare? I'm afraid that I will be completely out of my depth.

Dang - what a lucky intern (really....the NICU is the bestest place in the hospital).

Okay, now to answer the question....there's not much to prepare except to make sure you have a working calculator and easy access to a good resource (UpToDate or a pocket neo guide). Just remember that neonatology is a team sport and the nurses, RTs, dietitians and the rest know what you don't know and will tell it to you if you listen and respect their advice. Meanwhile, be careful to find out the "rules" about examining babies, ordering labs and making vent changes. Believe me, the senior residents, fellows and attendings are well aware that new interns don't know NICU. We won't expect much and you'll have a quick learning curve.

Best of luck and enjoy hanging out with the littlest people.

My first NICU rotation was 38 years ago and I'm still at it and still enjoy being there. I also enjoy rounding with interns in July and August and will do so again this year.

• Love
Reactions: 10 users
I am strong believer in buying an reading Polin and Yoder's workbook in practical neonatalogy: Link HERE. Basically its a casefiles style book for the NICU. Its a dense read and will take a full week to get through but if you finish and understand it you will be way ahead of your peers. Other than that pay attention in NRP and show up rested and ready to learn.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)