Internships for MHA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sherwood222

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a rising sophomore that intends to apply for MHA programs upon graduation, and will declare a health administration major at the end of sophomore year.

I have no family/friends in healthcare or medicine in general, so I have no help as to how I should go about finding relevant internships. What kind of internships/jobs should I be looking for to make me a more competitive applicant? Should I volunteer at a hospital over the summer after my sophomore year?

What should I consider doing my summer before senior year?

In addition, what skillset/knowledge is required to get internships, if at all?

I apologize if these questions are generic; I'm painfully ignorant of this information. I also apologize if this comes off as "tell me how to get into a MHA program, I don't care about the substance," I just want to make sure I have an idea of what I should be considering, and go from there.

Thank you!!!

Members don't see this ad.

So I'm currently looking to apply for my MHA and from what I've found there's no real specific pathway. Some administrators I talked to started in business, some started in a pre-health field, most schools seem to value a diverse background of students. I personally started pre-med but am looking to shift gears. I doubt you could really go wrong as long as you keep up good grades and stay active in extracurricular activities (try to get some leadership experience), and you also need to take the GRE or GMAT