Interventional Pulm and CC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kushr88

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone know anybody that splits Interventional Pulm and CC? I'm an intern and i'm definitely doing Pulm/CC but as of late i've become interested in Interventional Pulm and would try and get a fellowship at a shop with a Interventional Pulm year to help my chances if I go that route.

Members don't see this ad.

Anyone know anybody that splits Interventional Pulm and CC? I'm an intern and i'm definitely doing Pulm/CC but as of late i've become interested in Interventional Pulm and would try and get a fellowship at a shop with a Interventional Pulm year to help my chances if I go that route.

The only people I know splitting the two are in universities. In the private world you'll most likely need to do some general pulmonary too in order to make your nut. Until IP starts reimbursing better (and that may be never) I don't see how you can just do both outside of a major referral center.

I did an ICU rotation as a student where the group had one interventional pulm member who practiced both. I have no idea how it actually worked out, but it does exist (I think)

Members don't see this ad :)
Got ya, thanks for the replies. Anyone know how competitive it is at the moment? I'd like to go to a place like U Pitt for Pulm/CC and then have a shot after but from what i've heard unless you go to that same place as the fellowship its tough.

Got ya, thanks for the replies. Anyone know how competitive it is at the moment? I'd like to go to a place like U Pitt for Pulm/CC and then have a shot after but from what i've heard unless you go to that same place as the fellowship its tough.