This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jlv1014

Reaction score
I am a Minnesota resident and was invited for an interview at Minnesota School of Dentistry via email on 8/10/2023. I interviewed on 9/7 (the first day of interviews), but have not heard back from any of the OOS schools that I applied to yet. Should I be worried?

Date of submission: 6/14
Overall GPA: 3.97
Science GPA: 3.93
Bio-Chem-Physics GPA: 3.9
DAT score (include AA and all sections):
I19AA/18 PAT/18 QR/19 RC/21 BIO/18 GEN CHEM/18 OCHEM/19 TOTAL SCIENCE
State of Residence: Minnesota, USA

Major: Biology
Minority?
No
Reapplicant? No

Shadowing Experience: 100+
Volunteering Experience: 39 hours volunteering working with people w/ disabilities, currently volunteering as an assistant collegiate track and field coach
Employment: 1.5 years (current) as an unlicensed dental assistant
Research: 3 different research experiences from STEM classes in college
Other Extracurriculars: Collegiate track and field (4 years)
Relevant Honors or Awards: Academic all conference, Dean's list, All conference for long jump
School list:

University of Minnesota
University of Michigan
University of Iowa (I was deferred)
University of Chicago-Illinois
University of Nebraska
Creighton University
Roseman University (Utah)
University of Colorado

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Possible Reason is you applied to only two private schools - Creighton, Roseman.

The rest of the schools, while they meet your regional demographics, are fairly selective with their OOS invitations and your DAT most likely falls below to average for all of them. Which could be the reason why.

Hopefully your interview with Minnesota went well! All it takes is one to get in. Try to stay positive.