Interview Season?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pathalot

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I'm a third year med student trying to set up my 4th year schedule. When would be the best time to take some vacation for interviews? I'm thinking of taking mid November and early December off. When do most places start interviewing? When does interview season end? Thanks for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys I'm a third year med student trying to set up my 4th year schedule. When would be the best time to take some vacation for interviews? I'm thinking of taking mid November and early December off. When do most places start interviewing? When does interview season end? Thanks for your help.

My interviews were in Nov, Dec, and Jan. I know several people who had October interviews. I was advised that path interviews generally take place a little earlier than other specialties. I'd say Nov and Dec would be a good time to take off. Also think about how many programs you want to interview at and allow yourself enough time so you don't get burned out. Hope this is helpful.

Frieda will tell you when each school is doing interviews. I am completely anal retentive and so I made a graph of the dates so that I could take the peak interview time off.

Generally you start getting invites September into October. Get most invites by November.

Interview Nov - Jan. typically. I had one interview in October, one or two in November, did the bulk in December, and finished up in Jan.

For scheduling purposes, I would take one month off for interviews and pick light rotations (can get at least 3-4 days off somewhat easily) for the other months. Taking end of Nov, start of December off sounds great.

A word of caution: don't schedule more than 3 interviews a week. It is too much.

Members don't see this ad :)