interviews-

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DBB

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
just wanted to add something to the board-
i received a letter from u. maryland stating that i was not competitive with their incoming class, and was not granted an app./ interview. i am a PA resident, and the adcom-person i spoke with stated that my GPA was too low...obviously, schools DO give a cut-off (with regard to GPA, and maybe DAT) when determining who gets an interview. my stats:
GPA: 3.0/ 3.1 science; double major- bio and econ
DAT: acad. - 19
read. - 20
PAT - 19
quant- 17
sci.- 19
bio- 20
gen. chem- 19
org. chem- 18

i also have weeks of research exp. at a dent school, hours and hours of dental assisting, many extracurriculars, etc.

HOPEFULLY other schools look at more than just GPA/ DAT as the deciding factor for an interview??? this sort of has me worried...are my stats that low??

Members don't see this ad.

maryland is a very tough school to get into, so dont let this scare you. which other schools did you apply to?

i applied all over the east coast- 11 schools. i didnt have much backround on many programs, so i didnt want to leave any out; boston, tufts, nyu, columbia, penn, temple, pitt, case, louisville, maryland, buffalo.

Members don't see this ad :)
I've been saying this for a long time, and people usually rip on me because I'm being too negative and blah blah blah. You folks have got to realize that I'm just telling it like it is.

Here is the long and short of it: dental school IS difficult to get into. We all have heard of people who have friends who know cousins who have siblings who got in with low grades, but those are NOT the norm.