Introduction and My Plan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NumberMunchers

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

The past week I've been thinking about becoming a doctor (again) and found this wonderful site! I'd like introduce myself, tell you about my plan, and with any luck get some feedback on it.

I majored in statistics, took all of my pre-med classes, graduated in 2007. Got an M.S. in biostatistics right after that which I finished in 2008. During that year I applied to several med school but did not get interviews for any of them. 3.5 undergrad, 3.7 grad GPA, good MCAT score, mediocre biology grades (B, B-, C, B).

Started work right after as a statistical programmer for the VA clinical trials program. No patient contact, no publications. Did that for almost two years, now I'm working at a place that trains EMTs, paramedics, and LVNs.

Activities: Rotary, on the board of two non-profits, chair of a city commission, ran for city council (didn't win), and community emergency response team volunteer and trainer.

My plan:

• Get a full-time position as an EMT (I have a license)
  • Find a medical office or hospital to shadow/volunteer at
  • Take a year of biology at my CC
  • Possibly take a year of anatomy/physio and/or Spanish at my CC
  • Take the MCAT late 2011/early 2012
  • Apply in 2012

I have a couple of questions:

• How helpful is taking Spanish (I can only complete a year before primaries)
  • How about working as an EMT?
  • I've heard mixed feedback about retaking biology. I'm thinking of doing it to demonstrated that I'm still academically sharp and to show improvement
I'd appreciate any help or feedback. Feel free to ask me for any details I left out. I want to make sure I have a tight of a plan as possible before I commit the next few years to it. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: