Intubating

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lastminute2018

5+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
When did you all really learn to intubate well? I'm a 4th year student going into anesthesia but I'm still struggling with intubating. Probably only successful 1/3 of the time or less so far. I love anesthesia but I'm wondering if there's ever a time I'll actually get to get better at this skill before its too late
I'm not an attending, but I really doubt you have to worry as a med student. I think you're going to have more than enough practice intubating in residency.

It takes at least 80-100 to get to the point where you can at least tell if it's difficult because the patient is difficult or if it's difficult because you suck at it.

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Eventually your left arm will become so strong, ypu will be able to levitate the patient's entire body off the OR table and visualization issues will wane..... ;-) Just takes time and experience. Also with todays fiberoptic video-train intubating larygoscopes, many reach for these earlier rather than repeatedly traumatizing the airway and dentition, and the patient experiencing hypertension and tachycardia.

Reactions: 1 user
As a 4th year med student with ~80 intubations under my belt, it wasn't until around 40 when I really started to get the hang of fine tuning my hand movements to achieve a better view. The more you practice, the more comfortable you will get. No one expects a medical student to be adept at airway management. Just keep on keepin' on.

Reactions: 1 users
Why do you think you need to learn to intubate as a student? That's what residency is for. Everyone has a different learning curve. Some people may pick things up more quickly in the beginning, but the people with the right attitude, grit, and work ethic eventually blow right by them.

Reactions: 1 users