Is it bad to be a Bio major?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

asmith6601

Reaction score
Hello!

I'm currently a freshman at a liberal arts college and I plan on going to medical school!

Right now I'm majoring in English and completing the pre-med requirements on the side, but I've realized recently that I don't love English as much as I thought I did. One of the many reasons I chose English was because I thought that it would give me an edge up in med school applications because it's different. But the truth is, I love biology and really would like to switch my major and cut English down to a minor. I'll likely also have either a Spanish or music minor on the side. Will this lower my chances of getting into medical schools in the future?

tl;dr: If I switch from an English major to a Bio major, will that lower my chances of getting into medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello!

I'm currently a freshman at a liberal arts college and I plan on going to medical school!

Right now I'm majoring in English and completing the pre-med requirements on the side, but I've realized recently that I don't love English as much as I thought I did. One of the many reasons I chose English was because I thought that it would give me an edge up in med school applications because it's different. But the truth is, I love biology and really would like to switch my major and cut English down to a minor. I'll likely also have either a Spanish or music minor on the side. Will this lower my chances of getting into medical schools in the future?

tl;dr: If I switch from an English major to a Bio major, will that lower my chances of getting into medical school?
We don't care what your major or minor is, only that you do well.

Reactions: 6 users
I also used to think that taking certain majors might make me stand out and impress the adcoms. But they really don't care very much