Is it clinical?

mreyno18

May 29, 2020
  1. Pre-Medical
I work as a PCA (personal care assistant) for an older adult women who is a paraplegic.
My daily tasks include: bathing, transfers, dressing, grooming, basic housekeeping and laundry, driving to Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Center biweekly, and helping her with her physical therapy exercises, range of motion, and stretching.

Basically I do what a CNA does, but I’m not certified and I work in their home instead of in a care facility. I’m curious to see whether this counts as a clinical work experience or not?

gonnif

Rule One: Take a Breath
10+ Year Member
Jul 26, 2009
The Big Bad Apple
  1. Non-Student
It's great experience, but I don't think it is clinical, because you are not interacting with her in an acute care setting, where she would be a patient.
Its borderline but I think I would call it clinical. But certainly dont rely on this as your only clinical

Sep 4, 2006
The Other Side of the Portal
  1. Attending Physician
I work as a PCA (personal care assistant) for an older adult women who is a paraplegic.
My daily tasks include: bathing, transfers, dressing, grooming, basic housekeeping and laundry, driving to Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Center biweekly, and helping her with her physical therapy exercises, range of motion, and stretching.

Basically I do what a CNA does, but I’m not certified and I work in their home instead of in a care facility. I’m curious to see whether this counts as a clinical work experience or not?
I'd consider the hours where you enable the PT exercises as "clinical," I suspect this represents a small portion of your weekly routine. You'd do best to label it Employment-Not Clinical, and let adcomms make up their own minds.

Reactions: 1 user
About the Ads
This thread is more than 1 year old.

Your message may be considered spam for the following reasons:

1. Your new thread title is very short, and likely is unhelpful.