Is it fair for the prof. to make exams 10x harder than study material?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Toadesque

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just had my chem mid term today and I probably did awful. And I studied my ass off for the last week, doing all the problems in the book, doing all the old tests from the prof's website that SHE recommends, reading the text. And when I get to the exam, none of that was applicable. It was like I was doing completely different material. It just doesn't make sense. How can you test people on material that they won't ever come across unless they break into her office and look at the tests? I was looking around at everyone else's tests and A LOT of people left entire pages blank because they had no idea what to do. I probably did better than the class average but the curve will still probably put me in the high C range.

Members don't see this ad.

I just had my chem mid term today and I probably did awful. And I studied my ass off for the last week, doing all the problems in the book, doing all the old tests from the prof's website that SHE recommends, reading the text. And when I get to the exam, none of that was applicable. It was like I was doing completely different material. It just doesn't make sense. How can you test people on material that they won't ever come across unless they break into her office and look at the tests? I was looking around at everyone else's tests and A LOT of people left entire pages blank because they had no idea what to do. I probably did better than the class average but the curve will still probably put me in the high C range.