Is it worth it down the road?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fusionall

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

This is my first post on these forums. Anyways, I am currently a Sophomore studying to become a Pharmacist. I want to get into Retail Pharmacy.

To get to the point, you don't need an economics degree to tell that our country is currently not that great. Most companies are cutting jobs and services are either being outsourced or becoming automated.

By the time I enter Pharmacy school, the economy should have picked up by then. However, I have read about Mom and Pop Pharmacies going under due to competition from mail-order services. I wonder how much longer before these mail-order companies affect other bigger companies such as Rite Aid or CVS.

As technology improves, everything is going to require less and less human contact.

For those of you pharmacists here, do you think it is worth it down the road to become a pharmacist, given our current economic situation and the possibility of being replaced by an envelope/robot?

I really don't want to study this hard only for my job to be replaced by an automated service.

Thoughts?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Well if everything does go to mail order then just work at a mail order. :idea: Trust me you will most likely like mail order better than working at a retail like Rite Aid or CVS anyways. :laugh:

Pharmacists do so much more than just "push pills", which I think is your current understanding of what we do. Techs and machines have pretty much taken over the automated process of it already. So that allows our job to focus on the patient. It's worth it, you just have to find a niche to make yourself competitive if you're worried about cutting jobs.

Members don't see this ad :)
@SHC1984

Thanks for your reply. I'll look more into mail-order (sounds dreadfully boring, though).

@ inquirer89

Thanks for your reply.