Is it worth transferring from Depaul to UIUC for pre-med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sahmed72

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a freshman and an English major going the pre-med track at Depaul. I initially wanted to go to UIUC (I got accepted), but I received zero scholarship and paying for the dorms was unrealistic. So I thought I would transfer after a year. However, now that I'm here, I realize that im doing relatively very well grade-wise, and receiving a pretty good scholarship right here at depaul. But UIUC is known for having the better science program.

So Im wondering if transferring to UIUC is still a good idea. Depaul is in the city, and is a comfortable environment for me. But UIUC is cheaper and could offer me the better education/chances at med school acceptance (?).

Members don't see this ad.

There is insufficient difference (to us on the west coast: no difference) in the reputations of these two schools to recommend a transfer for the explicit purpose of improving your odds of acceptance. Just distinguish yourself.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am a freshman and an English major going the pre-med track at Depaul. I initially wanted to go to UIUC (I got accepted), but I received zero scholarship and paying for the dorms was unrealistic. So I thought I would transfer after a year. However, now that I'm here, I realize that im doing relatively very well grade-wise, and receiving a pretty good scholarship right here at depaul. But UIUC is known for having the better science program.

So Im wondering if transferring to UIUC is still a good idea. Depaul is in the city, and is a comfortable environment for me. But UIUC is cheaper and could offer me the better education/chances at med school acceptance (?).