Is Medical Technology looked down upon?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hopeful4Future

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a biology sophomore in college and thinking about changing my major. I am in quite a dilemma. For me it's between medical technology, neuroscience, or philosophy. People have told me that students who majored in humanities usually score better on the MCAT and look like more well-rounded applicants, which is why I'm considering philosophy since its the only humanities major I like (I'm a big science person, though). I have also been told over and over again that I should major in what I love and enjoy and just forget about these generalizations about major. I am considering neuroscience because the curriculum in my college involves more specific biology and psychology courses that strongly relate to human anatomy as opposed to a normal biology major where I must take courses such as ecology, plant bio, conservation etc. and not of that interests me. My strongest interest lies in medical technology. Aside from the job security the degree provides, I can tell from research that it gives exposure to the healthcare field as well. However, I have seen stats (which were old, like 10 years ago) that the percentage of medical technologists who were accepted to medical school as the lowest of all majors, but then again there were only about 200 applicants from that major. Some people tell me it is similar to applying as a nurse and is looked down on by committees. Can anyone clear this up for me? I enjoy medical technology because it is a genuine interest of mine, but I believe my true calling is a physician.

Members don't see this ad.