Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Is my course load "competitive?"

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by DentalRose, Aug 3, 2015.

1. DentalRose

2+ Year Member

Hey all,

I saw a similar post about this topic.. But I couldn't make any definitive choices. I'm a post-bac student who has dropped everything to pursue a DDS/DMD. Last year I worked part time as a personal trainer while taking physics 1/2 and bio 1/2 and got A's in both. I just took two five week chems and got A's in those as well. However, I know a full workload is a different story when getting a good grade... So I'm wondering now (that I have the opportunity to go full-time again) if my semester will be a reflection of me being able to handle a rigorous workload.

For the Fall, I am currently enrolled in cell biology (3), molecular biology (3), microbio with lab (4), and organic chem with lab (4). This gives me 14 credits overall.

I see these as "tough classes" (personally :dead:), but I'm wondering if I should add more to boost my chances of getting accepted into school. My options would be to take another 3 credit science course, take a 2-3 credit general elective, or take a 1-2 credit course like "relaxation methods" or "exercise techniques."

A little about me: I've brought up my cumulative GPA from a 2.99 to a 3.18, and if all goes well fall and spring I am anticipating a 3.35. My science GPA is roughly a 3.5-3.6. I have not taken the DAT yet, I'll be postponing that until Spring so I can get at least 3/4 of organic chem under my belt. My backup plan if I'm not accepted first cycle is to boost my cumulative GPA to 3.4, retake the DAT if necessary, and do research while boosting volunteer/shadowing hours.