Is Rad onc advisable for someone who is not very technical?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gracile

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I ask this because it seems most people who go into radiation oncology are from a technical background -- majored in Engineering, Physics etc. I want a career I will excel in and I've been developing a lot of interest in oncology lately. However, I'm not very technically-oriented. Do you think radiation oncology is feasible?

Members don't see this ad.

I ask this because it seems most people who go into radiation oncology are from a technical background -- majored in Engineering, Physics etc. I want a career I will excel in and I've been developing a lot of interest in oncology lately. However, I'm not very technically-oriented. Do you think radiation oncology is feasible?

Absolutely. While it may be a "technical" field in many respects, on a day-to-day basis, it depends on interpersonal skills and good interaction not only with (primarily) oncology patients, but with referring physicians as well

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
I was a Shakespeare major who will take my Physical Sciences MCAT score to my grave. No one would have pegged me for Rad Onc at the start of med school. But I have managed :) As long as you are motivated and eager to learn, the technical components of the field are very doable.

Just going to agree with the above posters, but since I'm a frequent poster I figured I'd chime in.

You have to learn the medical physics, but it is far easier than the organic chemistry you went through earlier.

The challenging parts about the field in this era are: 1) knowing the literature 2) managing relations with referring physicians 3) CT/PET/MR anatomy 4) fundamentals of physics/dosimetry. You get those things down, you'll do pretty well. Let the engineers run the machines and the IT guys fix the computer problems. Focus on being a good doctor.