Is sophomore year supposed to be this hard?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bad Alias

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Background information: I have a 3.71 GPA from freshman year (Calculus and I do not get along), so I should feel relatively okay, but this third semester is not quite going the way I hoped. Organic Chemistry is really draining me mentally and emotionally, especially the lab. I just have this overwhelming feeling that I'm failing even though I'm on track to get a few A's at least, a few B's, and hopefully only one or two C's. I feel like it's a crime to get a C though, and I feel like all the pre-med forums and such that I've visited think you have to be a really lazy person to get a C. Is there any chance that classes at Purdue are simply hard? Is it okay if I end up with a 3.1 for this semester? I'm just learning how to study and my dad passed away in April, so I sort of feel like I have pretty solid "excuses" for this semester being a little worse. I'm just worried if I get a 3.0 this semester I'll get into a rut and start getting more B's and C's.

Also what is so wrong about a 3.0 GPA? This isn't highschool. I mean it would be a disappointment to my older sisters who got 3.8's but I have so many engineering friends with 2.5's and such. (Well this is purdue.) Really though, shouldn't it be an ACCOMPLISHMENT to graduate college with a B average? If it was a bell curve that would be a standard deviation above everyone else in your class.