is there a point in doing an MPH?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CaliDreamer

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi
im currently an undergrad with a double major in psych/english, and decided to go pre-med fairly late in my undergrad career. i have about a yr until i graduate and then i plan on doing my premed reqs at a post bacc program (currently looking at some state school programs, most of which are around 2 yrs). i havent taken any med prereqs yet so i have a clean slate as far as that is concerned, which i think is good for now. i plan on doing well in my post bacc coursework and MCAT, but i still dont think that will make me a competitive applicant for california med schools. im looking into MPH programs as well now. so here are my questions.

1) just like the title of this post: is there any point in getting an MPH? i am truly interested in public health as a discipline and would love to work in it, but am mainly looking at MPH programs as a way of showing med schools that i am truly interested in health issues. do med school admissions committees generable look favorably on MPH candidates or are they a dime a dozen who dont get any extra recognition?

2) instead of an MPH, is it more sensible to do an SMP or masters in a bio discipline? the impression i get is that medical schools want to see applicants who have done well in coursework that is very similar to that of a med school. would it be more practical, then, to enroll and do well in a program that actually incorporates med-type classes? (ie cell bio, pharmacology, immunology, physiology, anatomy, endocinology, microbio, human development, nutrition)

3) another option i was looking at was a masters/PhD in something more career-focused, like clinical psychology. if i plan on going into psychiatry within the medical field (which i am), do you think this would be better?