Is there any money in social work?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wolvereenie

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore undergrad at a big ten university, and I have very recently decided that med school (for psychiatry) is not for me. I am still very interested in working in a mental health field, but social work makes me wary when it comes to the earning potential after grad school. While I understand that people do not go into social work for the money, it is still somewhat important to me to make a comfortable income. I'm more interested in counseling rather than research, which is what makes social work more appealing than a psychology grad school.

So, I am wondering if there are some fields within social work that make more money than other fields? Is there any way to make a good amount of money (>$70,000) with this degree? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Your stated figure is the top 10% earners in that field. So, yes, possible. But not likley, no.

I'm not sure where those numbers come from, but the NASW Salary Survey for 2009 shows the top 10% earning $92,000.00 and up. I think the BSW and "Other" degree's taken into account, in addition to the non-profit, secondary income, this-is-my-passion (read: don't care about salary) incomes REALLY muddy the water when examining salaries. Getting rich with an MSW is highly unlikely, however, if the NASW reports are accurate, you can make out fairly well. The median base pay salary was listed as $55,000.00 - here's the link <http://www.naswdc.org/pressroom/2010/salarystudy2010.pdf>
It's got a pretty good break down. There should be more recent ones, but for whatever reason they're a pain to search for.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)