Is this a good MCAT study plan?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JohnnyBravo

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I plan to take the MCAT next April and would like to begin a light review now. I'm not going to take any Review Courses but I plan on purchasing the Berkeley Review books, entire Examkracker set, and PR Course Science and verbal workbooks. I will use the Examkracker books to review and learn test strategy. After doing this, I will do the passages from the BR and TPR books while doing practice tests in between. Is this too much material to cover? I know I can do it. Or should I just stick with one test prep company. I'm using all three because I know they all have their strength and weaknesses. Any advice is welcome.

Members don't see this ad.

I just used the EK set and practice aamc tests to prepare and did well enough(30P) on the MCAT. I started studying in february and started taking the aamc tests a month before the april test. It's all about being disciplined and staying focused.

I have decided just to use the EK 10 week study schedule along with the complete study package for EK and 1001 questions for each subjects for review. For practice, I will use Kaplan's full length tests (I took Kaplan last October and have all their full length tests, topicals, and subject tests) and AAMC tests (will purchase). I already started the 10 week schedule on June 12 and should be able to repeat the schedule several times before next April's test.

Members don't see this ad :)
if i were you i would start studying in january 2006...the problem with starting now is that you may burn yourself out because the mcat will always be in the back of your mind. also, you're going to have a half hearted 'there's so much time left' attitude for much of the time anyway