Is this what a doctor can do with his/hers hours?

VeggieForce

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
im a sophomore in high school
my cousin told me that when ur finished doing residency, u can choose how many hours you want to work. (He is going to be done with undergrad this april and will be doing rotations)
lets say....i want to be a general internist (internal medicine)
how many hours would i have to work? and could i choose how many hours i have to work? see.. i dont want to be so stressed and work 80+ hours a week. 60 hours could be good..

Members don't see this ad.

my cousin told me that when ur finished doing residency, u can choose how many hours you want to work. (He is going to be done with undergrad this april and will be doing rotations)
how many hours would i have to work? and could i choose how many hours i have to work? see.. i dont want to be so stressed and work 80+ hours a week. 60 hours could be good..

A lot. I would highly expect 80+ in the beginning. I've heard of doctors working 30 hours straight. Residency is a pretty long time; you don't want to go into it and burn out... again though you still have a long time before you need to worry about this stuff.

There've been reports on the news stressing the need to cut doctors hours to reduce unnecessary mistakes due to fatigue. For all we know by then they might have changed things.

If your focus is not working long hours, medicine may not be a great choice. Sure there are some part time options out there, and some opportunity to work fewer hours (but often with a commensurate loss of income and advancement opportunities), but these are sometimes harder to find because the way expenses work, it is simply cheaper for practices to hire one person who can work 70 hours/week instead of two who can work 35.