Is UCSF a malignant program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

G0S2

SDN Angel
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't mind hard work at all and most of the residents seem to get out at or after 6pm daily. Being treated like a dog, however, is a different story. Is there a current UCSF resident that can make any comments about the program? I have done some searching on SDN but nothing useful pops up.

Any insight appreciated including from those that have interviewed there this season.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Maybe that's because they're not treated like dogs.

I mean, uh, yea dude, hella malignant there bro, don't rank it! :D

I think I can give you the low down on UCSF. I graduated med school, residency, and fellowship there. I finished about 7 years ago from residency. Is it malignant? I don't think so. Do you work your ass off? Of course. Nothing comes for free. If you are going to go to a program with a top reputation you are going to be challenged. It's no joke. I pulled plenty of 100+ hour weeks. You guys actually have it easier now since you have time limits on residency now. We didn't when I went through.

The advantage of the program is that you do everything and the clinical experience is extremely varied. You get to do the weird and wonderful cases at the main center and get to the down in the dumps major trauma stuff at the county hospital.

This is probably true at all academic programs but if you are constantly being asked to work late, it actually is a sign that your attendings trust you. Why? Cuz as an attending, I want to make my life easy. I'm going to choose a strong resident to do the cases cuz I don't need to worry about them. Unfortunately, this leads to punishing the strong (staying late as a strong resident) and rewarding the weak (sending the weak resident home early) during residency.