is volunteering moonlighting?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuredo32

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does volunteering at a clinic for the indigent constitute moonlighting? Do I need my program's permission to volunteer? The clinic for the indigent covers malpractice insurance. I would be supervised by an attending.
The situation is that I'm currently a psych resident and want to do a second residency in primary care so I want to continue to get exposure to primary care to increase my chances of matching into a primary care residency after psych. I actually volunteered at this clinic before between the year between med school and starting my TRI.
I asked my psych residency (we are between pds at the moment) if I could volunteer and they said I have to wait until the new PD comes and see what he says.
But now that I've asked, I feel that I shouldn't have needed to ask because it's not really moonlighting.

Members don't see this ad.

Moonlighting is whatever your program says it is. You are much better off asking. It would seem ridiculous to say no. But, if your PD does refuse it, then if they found out about it on their own, you know you'd be in trouble,

It does seem kind of silly to not be able to volunteer wherever you want, but I can understand the program's concern if someone gets hurt or something because a doctor in their training program was practicing somewhere without their knowledge. Hopefully they shouldn't care because the insurance is covered and you'd be supervised.

This assumes that 1) you're actually insured, and 2) you're actually adequately supervised. There's no guarantee of either. The site says you're insured, but what if they've skimped on medmal insurance? News stories suggest that the fertilizer plant in TX was seriously underinsured -- I expect none of the townspeople were aware of that before the accident. And who knows if you'll really be supervised well.