Italian Med student in need of advice !!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Francina88

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello to all !!
I am an american citizen living in Rome. My father was from upstate Ny and I live here with my mom ( she's italian ) . I am 20 years old since in Italy we have 5 years of high school and I am currently in my first year of Medical School in the University of Rome ( Tor Vergata ).
This is my problem : I applied to a college in the Us. I applied because my aunt ( my dad's sister) who lives in upstate Ny as well insisted that it would be great to pursue a career in the Us given the field I am interested in. I also applied because I was very dissapointed by the Italian Medical Schools : we do not do any lab activity whatsoever, teachers are very old and very traditional in their approach,THERE ARE TOO MANY MED STUDENTS and NOT ENOUGH JOBS.......it's a very dire situation here.Also in Italy if you don't know anyone or don't come from a prominent family you can go only so far.Nepotism here is incredible !!!! So I applied to the US.
And I was actually accepted. As a freshman though.....I also got very good financial aid ( which is great since my mother and I don't have any money,my father died last year and left us with bills to pay from Us hospitals...........).
I was very excited at first : I thought it was great ! But I had yet to find out that getting into college does NOT equal getting into med school. I read many things on the net and it seems as though it's almost impossible !!! Is it true? Is it so hard ? The college I was accepted by is not Harvard or Yale it's a college I chose only because my aunt ( the only family I have left in the Us ) suggested it saying it was a pretty good institution. I also applied there because she lives close to this college,so it seemed natural. But where will it bring me ? Not to John Hopkins probably !!