IUHS - Information from Current Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lawyerdoc2b

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current student at IUHS. I have started this thread to reach out to other current students who may wish to share their experiences and to prospective students who may have questions.

The IUHS program: The first two years of Basic Medical Sciences is on line with live lectures. The Basic Medical Science curriculum takes 27 months to complete. It is followed by the usual 80 weeks over years three and four in U.S. hospitals. The 27 months begins with "Block Zero" (now called "PMT"). PMT is 12 weeks. Blocks 1 -8 are each eight weeks long and comprise the medical and science knowledge needed to be a physician. Blocks 9 and 10 are intensive review, study and practice testing for the USMLE Step 1 Examination. I just finished Block 3 and begin Block 4 on August 18, 2014. There is about a one to three week break between each block. You can finish five blocks per calendar year.

Each Block so far has been 85-100 lecture hours. Yes, they are on-line. The Power Point slides are available ahead of time if you are like me and want to preview each lecture. I print them out and write notes on them as the professor lectures. 85 - 100 lecture hours spread over seven weeks is 12 -15 class hours a week. Week 8 is study time and a final examination. I study at least two hours for every lecture hour. Literally thousands of practice questions (USMLE style questions) are provided to study (best estimate is 1,200 - 1,500 per block)