JFK to Valhalla?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mc4435

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know a good/cheap way to get from JFK to Valhalla, NY? There are shuttles but those are $60 each way... and a cab would be even more expensive I would think. Ideas?

Oh and I'm not too good with public transportation so the simpler the better.

Members don't see this ad.

Option 1: Take the Air Train to Jamaica, then get on the E train going uptown, get off the E at 42nd street/Port Authority and take the shuttle to Grand Central. Take Metro-North Railroad to White Plains, take a short cab ride to NYMC. Approximate total cost: $30

Option 2: Take a shuttle from JFK to Port Authority, take the underground shuttle (S train) or a cab to Grand Central, Take Metro-North to White Plains (approx. 1 hour ride) and take a cab to NYMC. Approximate total cost: $35-40

It sounds complicated, but it's not actually that bad. good luck!

Option 1: Take the Air Train to Jamaica, then get on the E train going uptown, get off the E at 42nd street/Port Authority and take the shuttle to Grand Central. Take Metro-North Railroad to White Plains, take a short cab ride to NYMC. Approximate total cost: $30

actually, i was at nymc on monday and i did something similar:
air train to jamaica, transfer to E train, get off at lexington, transfer to the 6 downtown, get off at grand central station. it sounds like a lot of work, but the ny subway system is so organized that it was incredibly easy.

also, when you take the metro-north rail, be sure to take the SOUTHEAST train. i almost took the wrong train. it's also possible to get off at the valhalla stop, because there is a sign with a taxi company number in the parking lot. or if you're lucky, you get a really nice student host who will drive you!

Members don't see this ad :)