Job offers and licensure - looking for input

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Padinn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
This is my first post here and I find myself in a bit of a conundrum. I am a recent graduate in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from a CACREP accredited program in New York. I was recently made two job offers and am evaluating my decision, each seems appealing but I was wondering if people with more experience in the field could offer some input.

My first offer is as a responder with the VA as a National Crisis Line. I'm very excited to work with Veterans, having done my internship at the VA, and think this would be a great opportunity.However, I'm worried that I may eventually be stuck because I cannot earn hours towards my license while working this position. On the plus side, this job has an outstanding salary and benefits. I would begin earning in the upper 40s and move to the upper 50s after one year.
It's also the VA, which is where I want to work. I did my internship working with Veterans and loved it.

The second is with a local non-profit agency. They have decent benefits, but salary would be 30-35% lower than the VA and that differential would increase after one year. However, it is an agency I'm very keen on. They emphasize professional growth/development and would help me earn my LMHC very quickly.

The only other difference is that I would work midnights with the VA, at least initially. I consider that a downside but I think I can manage that adjustment (it's 1 AM now :))

So, I'm just curious what you all think about how important it is to get my license immediately. I can take some steps, such as the NCC in April, which I plan to do. Or is it worth considering the substantial pay decrease to earn my license first?

Members don't see this ad.

What a great dilemma to find yourself in - congratulations :)