Job opportunities for pediatricians - sparse?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dragonfly411

Megalagrion jugarum
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a fourth-year med student wanting to go into Peds. I made that decision six months ago when I fell in love with it on my Pediatric clerkship.

My parents, both of whom are in the healthcare field from a small rural town, are very frustrating, though. My mother, in particular, is extremely worried that I won't find a job in the future. She's worried about the "competition" that pediatricians have with physicians assistants and family nurse practitioners, and of course, as posted in other forums, salary is an issue (at least for her). I come from a family with financial security, so I think she's wanting me to continue the same for my future family. I have been able to ignore other physicians who, whenever they ask me what field I'm going into, tell me not to go into peds, but it's more bothersome now since these are my parents.

My main question for the residents and attendings is what do you think of the job opportunities for pediatricians in general? Also, what do you think of employment opportunities for pediatric hospitalists, in particular (since that is ultimately what I want to do)? For the attendings: Was it hard for you to find a job in a location that was ideal for you?

I have already spoken to some pediatricians who readily found a job after residency, but it would still be great to hear from more. Also, if anyone knows of a site that reports the number of pediatricians who searched for a job vs. those who actually attained one, I'd be grateful if you could give me the link. I think hard facts may help convince my mom otherwise b/c she still isn't too taken by all the anecdotal information I have given her.