Jobs to work before PT school starts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Road2PT-MK

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I know that many of us who applied this application cycle are either stressed out waiting to hear back from a program or have already heard back (congrats!). Depending on your program, school may start either in the early summer or the fall, which is still some months from now, so until that time what are some jobs you all are working to save up and prepare for grad school? I figure most applicants like myself will have to take out loans or use some type of financial aid to pay for PT school, but having some extra cash going in can go a long way, I feel.

I currently work as a rehab tech at a hospital, and while its an excellent way to gain experience in the field, it's not exactly the best way to save up ahead of grad school. I was thinking about getting another job to complement my tech position but I've struggled to come up with ideas. I was hoping I could get some insight from either applicants or current DPT students on some short term job ideas. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

1. Organ Vendor
2. Ponzi Scheme CEO
3. Inherit money from a rich relative that dies mysteriously quickly.

I only jest, but if you're already working as a rehab tech, then the only other ways to save up extra would be to maybe get a weekend job like Uber or Lyft or, if you know certain products, you can buy and sell stuff on Craigslist (buy low, sell market value or a bit higher).

I also currently work as a PT Aide but I refurbish bicycles on the side which brings some extra cash flow.