KCOM and Psychiatry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Starfire

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a couple of questions. I'm going to work with kids with various disorders and to do this I need to be a doctor. All the docs at the hospital where I am a psych tech are MDs but being a DO makes sense (holistic healing). In addition, I've heard it is easier to get into a DO school. I had planned on being a psychologist (am a psych major) but I see I need the medical degree and I'm excited about it.
First question: I have a 3.9 in psych, and a 3.5 in science classes but a 3.25 in math. I have a 3.21 in GE. I've taken a practise MCAT and I did better than average. I believe I can score very well on the MCAT. I have a double minor in religion and chemistry. I will only meet the basic biology and physics requirements. I'm not strong in Math -- have to work very hard for the grade I get. I will not have any contact with a DO to get a reference letter. I will have excellent letters from the nurses and therapists and two doctors I work with. Do I have a shot at medical school, especially KCOM. Also what influance will the fact that I only want to be a psychiatrist not a GP have on my chances? And my referance will all by from the mental health field. How much is this going to hurt me? Basically, brutally do I have a chance? Any advice? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Just do well in your MCAT's and you'll probably do fine....

BTW, don't use the word "holistic"....

Another thing...

WELCOME TO SDN!!! :D

One more thing... It would really help if you can get a letter of recommendation from a graduate of KCOM.... Good luck :cool:

Members don't see this ad :)