Lab Meetings...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ollie123

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My team is rapidly growing after a recent move and we're at a point where I think it makes sense to launch lab meetings for my team. Since becoming faculty I've always been part of centers that had larger cross-group meetings so this is my first time with the freedom to design them myself. I'm in an AMC so we are a pretty diverse group in terms of level/educational background (BS/MS level staff, post-docs, medical students, upper-level undergrads, some community college undergrads from another school joining as part of a research exposure experience).

For those of you holding your own lab meetings (or attending them for the students!):
1) What do yours involve? We'll obviously do project updates and the like, but I want to avoid this being a purely business-focused "checklist" meeting as my goodness I have too much bureaucratic nonsense in my life. Things I'm hoping they can help provide: intellectual stimulation, motivation, establishing a lab "culture", opportunities to share ideas, providing me an opportunity to observe "systems".
2) How big are they and how frequently do you meet?
3) What works and doesn't work in how your meetings are set up?
4) What else would like to see, but don't have?