Lacking research but is it necessary?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neurocali

Reaction score
I’m in my last semester of UG and decided I want to pursue medical school. I’ve seen a few posts on SDN with a few people with stats like me and they’ve been recommended to even apply to some ivy leagues. I’m taking a gap year for sure but here are some EC’s. But I just have zero research experience.

D1 Athlete for two years, full scholarship, but career ending injury so a pretty strong why.

Nurse Technician - just started but will continue to work full time during my gap year.

Ronald Mcdonald Volunteer, Food Bank Volunteer, also volunteer at a clinic for the uninsured.

MCAT practice tests range from 513-515. Gpa will be hovering around 3.5 cum and 3.4 science if all keeps going well. URM.

Members don't see this ad.

I am absolutely not an expert, but I am a current URM applicant. Long story short, it is not necessary to have a successful cycle, but it can only help. If your other extracurriculars are solid, which they seem to be, you can absolutely have a good cycle without research. I applied this cycle with no research on primary application submission, but started doing some shortly thereafter. I've seen moderate success this cycle so far. Personally, if I had to do it over again, I would have waited until next year to apply with the best application possible(i.e, one with research). Not having research can definitely close some doors or make acceptance harder at some schools. Try to get some if you can, you wanna keep all doors open :).

Reactions: 1 user