Dec 1, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I am reapplying this year after only being interview at two schools in Florida (where I am a resident) 30Q MCAT, overall GPA 3.75 @ a great out of state school, and a science GPA of ~3.8 , volunteer at a childrens hospital for a year, outreach girl scout troop leader for a year, 1 1/2 years of neuroscience research (published), active involvement in a panhellenic sorority requiring 20 hrs of community service a semester , come from a long line of doctors, and with this year off have been working ~30 hrs a week as a medical assistant in a pediatricians office and continuing my research... I have received three interviews so far, but have yet to hear back from the two schools I interviewed at last year, even though by this time I had already heard from them last year despite submitting my applications later. I rode the waitlist all the way to august on one school that I really loved and was placed on hold and than eventually rejected from the other Florida school...Is this normal that I would hear later form them even though I feel like I am a stronger applicant this time around? I am starting to really stress out since this is not my first rodeo...any advice would help! Thanks

Richardh

10+ Year Member
Jul 3, 2008
Status
I would suggest you to contact the school and ask them your application status. If not, send them a letter indicating your great desire and interest of studying medicine at their institution :) Response times can vary from year to year so don't stress. Instead, take the initiative and ask the schools :thumbup:

dragonfly99

10+ Year Member
May 15, 2008
Status
Attending Physician
Your stats are pretty good. The MCAT could be higher, but should be good enough to get some interviews. I agree w/contacting the school where you were on the wait list last year - just write them or call them and tell them they are your top choice school, etc. It won't hurt, unless you go crazy endlessly bugging them.