Law or Dentistry please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kurk

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
For the past year I've had my sights set on dentistry; the year-and-a-half before that it was medicine. Now I'm lingering in law and need guidance as to how I should proceed.

I'm an upcoming UG freshman and am set on majoring in cell-bio either way. Not going to lie, what attracts me to dentistry is the money, autonomy, and entrepreneurship opportunities. I still think I have the ideal personality (ISTJ) for both dentistry and law being detail-orientated and a bit of a perfectionist.

I've had high-school teachers tell me that I have "a good legal mind" as well as participated in mock-trial as a witness. The bulk of my upper-level classes were in advanced history and literature, but I also enjoyed and did well in the science and math classes that I took.

I understand that law is nothing like dentistry in terms of money and job security being correlated to school ranking; that being said I've begun to not care about money and leisure time anymore since I'm beginning to realize that I don't actually have any hobbies (or life) outside of schoolwork. I also never wanted to have kids and consider myself to be a skin-flint so I could live on bare-minimum wage. I've actually been watching Better Call Saul and in all honestly I could survive living in the back of a nail-salon.

All jokes aside, as a lawyer I'd be aiming to either land a sweet government job with hopes of becoming a judge, or I'd aim to be a medical malpractice lawyer so I can take some money out of the physicians' fat-ass pockets.

What is the future of dentistry? Can I expect to be a corporate slave as socialized healthcare looms around the corner? Or is there light at the end of the tunnel where I can set-up practice(s) and thrive?

And the biggest problem is that I've yet to shadow a dentist or lawyer; so yeah....I know.